Post by answersun » Mon Apr 05, 2021 8:22 am

Hi,

Is there a way I can add a new language only for showing the operational content in the administration side, without the need to create a version in that language for every category, product and information pages etc.? For the front store I only need the default language.

Currently, if a new language is added and enabled in the admin side, I'm obligated to create a copy of every content (categories, products, information pages etc...) in that language which is very annoying, since I don't want to show that language to my customers thus no need to create any content in that language. I only need the language for operational purpose in the administration side.

Best regards

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:31 pm

Post by straightlight » Mon Apr 05, 2021 8:05 pm

OC version.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by JNeuhoff » Mon Apr 05, 2021 10:12 pm

You could modify the catalog/view/theme/*/template/common/language.twig to allow only for the default frontend language. E.g. it could be commented out.

Override Engine * Integrated VQMod * Unused Images Manager * Instant Option Price Calculator * Number Option * Google Rich Snippets * Google Tag Manager * Export/Import Tool * SpamBot Buster * Survey Plus


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:38 am


Post by answersun » Mon Apr 05, 2021 10:50 pm

straightlight wrote:
Mon Apr 05, 2021 8:05 pm
OC version.
My OC version is 3.0.3.7, however I think this question is not version related.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:31 pm

Post by answersun » Mon Apr 05, 2021 11:07 pm

JNeuhoff wrote:
Mon Apr 05, 2021 10:12 pm
You could modify the catalog/view/theme/*/template/common/language.twig to allow only for the default frontend language. E.g. it could be commented out.
Thank you for your information.

I believe modifying catalog/view/theme/*/template/common/language.twig file only affect the store front, I'll still need to insert the unwanted language version for each Category, Product or any other content in admin side, right? How can I avoid that as well?
Last edited by answersun on Tue Apr 06, 2021 7:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:31 pm

Post by straightlight » Tue Apr 06, 2021 4:54 am

answersun wrote:
Mon Apr 05, 2021 10:50 pm
straightlight wrote:
Mon Apr 05, 2021 8:05 pm
OC version.
My OC version is 3.0.3.7, however I think this question is not version related.
Nevertheless, this question is needed on the forum for forum supporters to know which OC version is being troubleshooted. Forum rules.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by answersun » Tue Apr 06, 2021 5:22 am

straightlight wrote:
Tue Apr 06, 2021 4:54 am
answersun wrote:
Mon Apr 05, 2021 10:50 pm
straightlight wrote:
Mon Apr 05, 2021 8:05 pm
OC version.
My OC version is 3.0.3.7, however I think this question is not version related.
Nevertheless, this question is needed on the forum for forum supporters to know which OC version is being troubleshooted. Forum rules.
Noted, thank you!

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:31 pm

Post by answersun » Tue Apr 06, 2021 7:39 am

answersun wrote:
Mon Apr 05, 2021 11:07 pm
JNeuhoff wrote:
Mon Apr 05, 2021 10:12 pm
You could modify the catalog/view/theme/*/template/common/language.twig to allow only for the default frontend language. E.g. it could be commented out.
I believe modifying catalog/view/theme/*/template/common/language.twig file only affect the store front, I'll still need to insert the unwanted language version for each Category, Product or any other content in admin side, right? How can I avoid that as well?
Managed to do it by adding {% if language.code != $unwanted-language-code %} condition in all the related files in admin/view/template/{catalog, sale, customer, localisation, designer}/relative_files.twig, there are a lot of them, not sure if there's an easier / better way to do this, but for now this solved my problem.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:31 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests