Post by info@wescomedia.com » Fri Sep 11, 2020 3:05 pm

First issue was "directory does not exist". I made some mods from other posts that made the images directory functional.
Now I can see the image names, but no thumb. The images do not show up in the admin or in the customer browser.
Version 3.0.3.3
PHP

Image

Midwest United States
Photoshop - InDesign - Illustrator
OC 3.03
Linux - CPanel - PHP 5.4.45



Posts

Joined
Thu May 07, 2020 1:58 pm

Post by IP_CAM » Sat Sep 12, 2020 1:16 am

I made some mods from other posts that made the images directory functional.
well, probably like adding images with extension xxx.pn g, among a few other unknown
to others changes ... :crazy: :laugh:
But better don't expect someone, to find out, if you're not able, to exactly explain,
what else you did to your poor Software... ::)

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
5'200 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest private Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by info@wescomedia.com » Sat Sep 12, 2020 2:51 am

IP_CAM wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 1:16 am
I made some mods from other posts that made the images directory functional.
well, probably like adding images with extension xxx.pn g, among a few other unknown
to others changes ... :crazy: :laugh:
But better don't expect someone, to find out, if you're not able, to exactly explain,
what else you did to your poor Software... ::)
Was hoping there would be help... If you used some mods then I would like to know more.
I didn't add the profile-pic.png you referenced. It came with the software.
And it's fine on the server. So OC has an issue that I am asking for help with... Not rude comments!
Image

Midwest United States
Photoshop - InDesign - Illustrator
OC 3.03
Linux - CPanel - PHP 5.4.45



Posts

Joined
Thu May 07, 2020 1:58 pm

Post by IP_CAM » Sat Sep 12, 2020 8:26 am

I made some mods from other posts that made the images directory functional.
Well, there is nothing RUDE, by replying to a posting, containing nothing really
on usable technical information. But whatever you did, your image Directory
seems still not be functional, or you would not be here, looking for help. 8)

But it's not about STYLE matters around here, it's strictly about TECH INFO, where
things like 'some mods' are worthless, even contra-productive, if one really
expects someone to possibly share his/her time for free, and then needs to ask back
first, just to find out, what one is writing about, looking for possibly free Support... :'(

It's more than just simple, to FTP-upload whole bunches of images into the right
place in OC, and if the link/path to them is correctly defined in the both
config.php file(s), they will be found, it's as easy as that.
The MAIN BASE Storage Place for uploaded images is:

Code: Select all

yoursite.com/shop/image/catalog/demo/
where also the Image Subdirectories can be created, if one likes to avoid an overcrowded Image MAIN Dir:
Image
--------- --------- ---------
config.php Sample IMAGE PATH:

Code: Select all

define('DIR_IMAGE', '/home/yoursite/www/shop/image/');
config.php IMAGE LINKS - if Site is HTTP linked:

Code: Select all

define('HTTP_IMAGE', 'http://yoursite.com/shop/image/');
define('HTTPS_IMAGE', 'http://yoursite.com/shop/image/');
config.php IMAGE LINKS - if Site is HTTPS linked:

Code: Select all

define('HTTP_IMAGE', 'https://yoursite.com/shop/image/');
define('HTTPS_IMAGE', 'https://yoursite.com/shop/image/');
USE/SET the Opposite Image Link URL, if you want to make the Images
"Test Site - Cookiefree". By example, by use of an image link like this:

Code: Select all

http(s)://yoursite.com/shop/image/
if your regular Shop Site URL is:

Code: Select all

http(s)://www.yoursite.com/shop/
or then in reverse:

Code: Select all

http(s)://www.yoursite.com/shop/image/
if your regular Site URL is:

Code: Select all

http(s)://yoursite.com/shop/
It will result in better Page Load Results on Test Sites.
At least on a decent Server, allowing you to use em both ... :laugh:
Good Luck!
Ernie
PS: And next time, upload your images here, nobody likes to open other
Sites, and accept bunches of Cookies and Ad's, just to see a simple image in a readable form ...

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
5'200 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest private Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by OSWorX » Sat Sep 12, 2020 5:30 pm

IP_CAM wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 1:16 am
well, probably like adding images with extension xxx.pn g ..
Has nothing to do with an(y) extension or so!
This is simply a "function" in the OpenCart Core to add a "space" after 14 letters (if image name is longer).

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by IP_CAM » Sat Sep 12, 2020 7:55 pm

OSWorX wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 5:30 pm
Has nothing to do with an(y) extension or so! This is simply a "function"
in the OpenCart Core to add a "space" after 14 letters (if image name is longer).
Well, if that's really the case, it must be the most stupid function possible, because
it will only add many problems, and fill up this place with new topics, for not one good
reason at all. Adding a '_' instead of a 'white space gap' would have been a professional
solution, but only in an image name itself, and sure not in the extension (like pn_g). :crazy:

Better create an OcMod ASAP, to UNDO that weird 'method' again ...
Ernie

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
5'200 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest private Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by info@wescomedia.com » Sun Sep 13, 2020 1:01 am

The first issue I had, the comment that upset me was the "white spaces" in the image name...
It was assumed that I named images that way. I didn't. It came with the OC software. That's why it's baffling.
I'm new to OC so I'll get better at this board.

I never touched any coding in the site until the image issue. So all the coding is original OC installation.
Fixed the white space in filemanger.php. There was a space between quotes.

Code: Select all

'name'  => implode('', $name),
I've changed the DIR_IMAGE to try different paths. I can see that the site changes, but the images are still broken img.responsive.
Here is the current code that makes my logo show up. Which seems strange that it shows and no images show.

Code: Select all

define('DIR_IMAGE', '/home/yoursite/public_html/store/image/');

Midwest United States
Photoshop - InDesign - Illustrator
OC 3.03
Linux - CPanel - PHP 5.4.45



Posts

Joined
Thu May 07, 2020 1:58 pm

Post by IP_CAM » Sun Sep 13, 2020 2:24 am

Well, sorry about that whitespace Matter, I was unaware of some weird change,
made in latest Version OC Code, by adding some white-space gap after a certain
amount of characters, for some fully unexplainable to me reason. And it makes
that change, regardless of, if the white-space gap will be placed in the Image
Name or it's extension (.jpg/.png/etc.), what makes it even worse, because
images are not readable, if they include a whitespace gap, like pn g/j pg/etc.
It will probably force masses of OC Upgraders, to partly rewrite/character-limit
thousands of Image Names, and link them again, in/for every Product involved,
for no good reason at all. Or then, one will create a simple OcMod, to get around
that very nasty 'OC-home-made' problem.

But i might also have a positive effect, because some of the Forever-Upgraders will
think twice next time, before jumping up to the latest OC Band-Waggon, for no good
reason, except, to always belong to the Forerunners of the Scene .... :laugh:
Ernie

PS. Better upload all images by FTP, to keep their Names, as they are. And for the
OC File-Manager, hopefully, someone will be willing and able, to remove that function,
if it's also part of the latest OC Versions Filemanager Code.

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
5'200 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest private Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by info@wescomedia.com » Sun Sep 13, 2020 11:59 am

Thanks for helping.
It thought the same thing. A shame the original OC install of filemanager.php has code to add white spaces.
I still can't get the images to show up in Image Manager or any browser.
I FTP some images. They show up broken img.responsive in the Image Manger and do not work.
The store logo is in the same folder and shows up, so I know the DIR_IMAGE path is right.
Although I have tried different paths as a test.
I'll need to change from OC if I cann't fix this...

Midwest United States
Photoshop - InDesign - Illustrator
OC 3.03
Linux - CPanel - PHP 5.4.45



Posts

Joined
Thu May 07, 2020 1:58 pm

Post by info@wescomedia.com » Sun Sep 13, 2020 12:21 pm

SOLVED. As suspected, it was a PATH issue. Not sure when or why my server would do this but I found it in CPanel.
Original install:

Code: Select all

define('DIR_IMAGE', '/home/MYSITE/public_html/store/image/');
Then I go to CPanel looking for anything odd and there it was:
HOME DIRECTORY
home2/MYSITE

FIXED:

Code: Select all

define('DIR_IMAGE', '/home2/MYSITE/public_html/store/image/‘);
Thanks for all the replies and help. Hope this helps some along the way.

Midwest United States
Photoshop - InDesign - Illustrator
OC 3.03
Linux - CPanel - PHP 5.4.45



Posts

Joined
Thu May 07, 2020 1:58 pm

Post by OSWorX » Sun Sep 13, 2020 7:04 pm

IP_CAM wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 7:55 pm
OSWorX wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 5:30 pm
Has nothing to do with an(y) extension or so! This is simply a "function"
in the OpenCart Core to add a "space" after 14 letters (if image name is longer).
Well, if that's really the case, it must be the most stupid function possible, because
it will only add many problems, and fill up this place with new topics, for not one good
reason at all. Adding a '_' instead of a 'white space gap' would have been a professional
solution, but only in an image name itself, and sure not in the extension (like pn_g).
Does no matter if good .. or bad.
This "space" is only added to read the image names better - it does NOT change the image names itself!
Of course the crowd can now discuss if this function is good or not - if they have to waste their time.

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by IP_CAM » Mon Sep 14, 2020 2:40 am

it does NOT change the image names itself!
Whatever, something does change that name and/or name.extension,
or the problem would not exist. ::)
And for a Code Routine, an image-name does not need a (human) meaning,
it just has to work, regardless of, how long and/or 'understandable' that name
might be. But the image .EXTension is of upmost importance, and if something
creates a .p ng / .jp g/. png or whatever, out of a formerly
functional Image link, depending on the 'overall' lenght of an image Name, incl.
.EXTension, that piece of obvious faulty Code needs to changed, that's all it takes.
Ernie
Under the Aspect at least, that those Images have been 'named' correctly,
and without white-space Gaps in writing anywhere ... :laugh: :crazy:
---
Image

My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
5'200 + FREE OC Extensions, on the World's largest private Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests