Page 2 of 2

Re: Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:59 am
by JNeuhoff
@IP_CAM : 3rd party extensions should really use OpenCart's event handlers, in most cases there is no need for XML-based notations for core file modifications.

XML (Extensible Markup Language) is meant to be a markup language that defines a set of rules for encoding documents in a format that is both human-readable and machine-readable. It wasn't designed to be a programming language.

Re: Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 1:03 am
by tsloc
Hello,

Many thanks for your quick reply!

I just realized that i could update to latest vqmod version 2.6.4 so I just did that.

OK, the I see. I have been looking on this integrated vqmod solution and I will proceed with that. I just have some questions about how it works and what I need to do in my shop...

So, right now I´m using as you now vqmod. If I will go over to this solution with integrated instead, what do I need to think about regarding the old details? Do I still running the old vqmod together with the new solution? Do I need to move current files to a new destination folder?

I´m quite newbie on this details but I will try to do my best so it gets done the best way...

Re: Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 1:06 am
by IP_CAM
Integrated VqMod places it's cached Files in the same Place as OcMod does.
And technically, Integrated VqMod Cache will then automatically be handled
like OcMod Cache Content, and cleared out too, since Integrated VqCache Content
resides in the same Database Table Section.

PS: Just about every VqMod could be rewritten into an OcMod easy, if one really cares,
to have it all coded in the same way: 3 simple changes are required per section, that's it!
VqMOD:

Code: Select all

<file name="catalog/controller/product/category.php"> 	 (HERE!)
<operation error="log">
<search position="replace"><![CDATA[ 	(HERE!)
if (file_exists(DIR_TEMPLATE . $this->config->get('config_template') . '/template/product/category.tpl')) {
]]></search>
<add><![CDATA[	(and HERE!)
if (!$this->data['categories']&& !$this->data['products']) { 
---
OCMOD:

Code: Select all

<file path="catalog/controller/product/category.php">
<operation error="log">
<search><![CDATA[
if (file_exists(DIR_TEMPLATE . $this->config->get('config_template') . '/template/product/category.tpl')) {
]]></search>
<add position="replace"><![CDATA[
if (!$this->data['categories']&& !$this->data['products']) { 

Re: Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 1:13 am
by JNeuhoff
Also, only one should be used, either Qphoria's VQmod, or the Integrated VQmod. If you go for the Integrated VQmod, then make sure to remove Qphoria's vqmod (except for the 'vqmod/xml' folder!), also restore the original 'index.php' and 'admin/index.php' files.

Re: Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 2:03 am
by IP_CAM
@JNeuhoff: Just a question, it would probably be good to know,
if those integrated 'vqmodded' oc_modifications will be visible and editable
like OcMods, Users could then make sure, to get and use the matching tools.
But since I don't use it, I just don't know ... :laugh:
Ernie

https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... d%20Editor

Re: Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 2:51 am
by JNeuhoff
IP_CAM wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 2:03 am
@JNeuhoff: Just a question, it would probably be good to know,
if those integrated 'vqmodded' oc_modifications will be visible and editable
like OcMods, Users could then make sure, to get and use the matching tools.
But since I don't use it, I just don't know ... :laugh:
Ernie
All extensions, whether VQmod or OCmod, whether stored in the DB, or the 'system' folder, or the 'vqmod/xml' folder, are listed in the admin backend under 'Extensions > Modifications'. See sample screenshot.

Re: Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:34 am
by tsloc
I want to thank you guys for explaining and pointing me to the right direction. I will have a look on this.

I appreciate your help!

Best regards from a interested but not skilled Opencart user.

Re: Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2020 10:17 pm
by swiftws
Your vqmod might be ok i havent tried it but a SIMPLE SOLUTION I HAVE FOUND AFTER ONE YEAR BATTLE , I have no choice but to use Vqmod because of one extension. HERE IS HUGE CACHE FILE SOLUTION SIMPLEY DISABLE IT

Simply edit vqmod/vqmod.php and set:

Code: Select all

private static $_devMode = false;
to

Code: Select all

private static $_devMode = true;
if this isnt working to improve your load speed and not having cache issue then nothing will :)




JNeuhoff wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:42 am
@tsloc: Qphoria's suggestion should work if you continue to use his VQmod. Or, you could use the Integrated VQmod which doesn't use the 'vqmod/vqcache' and hence won't have this issue. Your suggestion of merely deleting the 'vqmod/vqcache' is only a temporary solution.

Re: Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 9:05 pm
by nitse
swiftws wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 10:17 pm
Your vqmod might be ok i havent tried it but a SIMPLE SOLUTION I HAVE FOUND AFTER ONE YEAR BATTLE , I have no choice but to use Vqmod because of one extension. HERE IS HUGE CACHE FILE SOLUTION SIMPLEY DISABLE IT

Simply edit vqmod/vqmod.php and set:

Code: Select all

private static $_devMode = false;
to

Code: Select all

private static $_devMode = true;
if this isnt working to improve your load speed and not having cache issue then nothing will :)




JNeuhoff wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:42 am
@tsloc: Qphoria's suggestion should work if you continue to use his VQmod. Or, you could use the Integrated VQmod which doesn't use the 'vqmod/vqcache' and hence won't have this issue. Your suggestion of merely deleting the 'vqmod/vqcache' is only a temporary solution.
Life saver ! Thanks !!

Re: Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 9:35 pm
by OSWorX
swiftws wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 10:17 pm
if this isnt working to improve your load speed and not having cache issue then nothing will :)
Not really true, there is another solution which works perfectly, see: https://github.com/vqmod/vqmod/pull/156
What that does?
It simply changes the way how the path is handled especially if the storage folder is outside the public folders (which is basically a good idea and handled automatically since OpenCart 3.x).
Don't know why the devs there not implementing this ..

Here https://github.com/vqmod/vqmod/pull/152 is another fix which should work (did not test it).

Re: Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 9:47 pm
by straightlight
OSWorX wrote:
Mon May 11, 2020 9:35 pm
swiftws wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 10:17 pm
if this isnt working to improve your load speed and not having cache issue then nothing will :)
Not really true, there is another solution which works perfectly, see: https://github.com/vqmod/vqmod/pull/156
What that does?
It simply changes the way how the path is handled especially if the storage folder is outside the public folders (which is basically a good idea and handled automatically since OpenCart 3.x).
Don't know why the devs there not implementing this ..

Here https://github.com/vqmod/vqmod/pull/152 is another fix which should work (did not test it).
I was wondering a bit about VQMod handling paths outside of the public_html folder yesterday for an extension I would develop. That is good information.

Re: Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 10:14 pm
by OSWorX
straightlight wrote:
Mon May 11, 2020 9:47 pm
I was wondering a bit about VQMod handling paths outside of the public_html folder ..
Sometimes really, really bad!
In the worst case can lead to a shop not working anymore (= white screen).
With that fix (1.), my clients have no problems anymore (if they use OC 3.x).

And as the creator of VQMod (Qphoria) suggested to edit the config files, I would say this cannot be a final solution.

One final note to the "tipp" above (enabling the debug mode): all what that does, is NOT to cache the files.
So basically useless!

Re: Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 10:15 pm
by straightlight
OSWorX wrote:
Mon May 11, 2020 10:14 pm
straightlight wrote:
Mon May 11, 2020 9:47 pm
I was wondering a bit about VQMod handling paths outside of the public_html folder ..
Sometimes really, really bad!
In the worst case can lead to a shop not working anymore (= white screen).
With that fix (1.), my clients have no problems anymore (if they use OC 3.x).

And as the creator of VQMod (Qphoria) suggested to edit the config files, I would say this cannot be a final solution.
Especially since this is a third-party Engine, I would have to agree on that.

Re: [SOLVED] - Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 12:08 pm
by Yoo_87
you are using the old version ,
vQmod should clear cache on every rebuild.
Line 251 of vqmod.php:
Code: Select all
I suggest you uninstall this version and get 2.5.1 or try the latest 2.6.1.

The code you show is from older version, either 2.3.2 ?

If you use VQmod from https://github.com/vqmod/vqmod/releases then its vqmod/vqcache/* or its vqmod/*.cache files are not refreshed by a Extensions > Modifications > Refresh, the latter is only for OCmod.

Re: [SOLVED] - Checked.cache getting huge and killing the stores

Posted: Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:48 pm
by IP_CAM
And just, to have it said, if someone would create another 'Function'
like OcMod and VqMod, I'm sure, that the Freaks would download and
install it too. :crazy: To me, it only proves, how little 'professionalism'
is part of this Place. And it's also the DEV's, unwilling to follow the rules,
otherwise, VqMod would never made it into OC v.2.+ Versions in the first
place. But (new) OC Users just don't know, they take, what they can get,
unaware of the consequences, as long as something comes for free. 8)
Ernie