Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] - How to disable Affiliates functionality

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:00 am
by Benger
Hello,
Can anyone help with instructions on how I completely disable Affiliates functionality and any remove any references to it on the site?
Thanks
Benger

Re: How to disable Affiliates functionality

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:17 am
by straightlight

Re: How to disable Affiliates functionality

Posted: Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:58 am
by Benger
Thank you I will give it a try.

Re: How to disable Affiliates functionality

Posted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 7:01 pm
by ShorePatrol
I'm not sure I understand all the colors - green means to ADD the code, and RED means to delete the code from those files?

It seems like a lot of code to manage, especially when you upgrade to a newer version of Opencart.....no?

I'm surprised an opensource product this mature hasn't had an on/off switch developed for the affiliate feature....

Hopefully that is coming...

Re: How to disable Affiliates functionality

Posted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:40 am
by straightlight
ShorePatrol wrote:
Mon Apr 08, 2019 7:01 pm
I'm not sure I understand all the colors - green means to ADD the code, and RED means to delete the code from those files?

It seems like a lot of code to manage, especially when you upgrade to a newer version of Opencart.....no?

I'm surprised an opensource product this mature hasn't had an on/off switch developed for the affiliate feature....

Hopefully that is coming...
Ironic isn't it? Even as a free provided solution, people may still question about the process.

Re: How to disable Affiliates functionality

Posted: Mon May 04, 2020 5:37 pm
by MysticKnight
We question it because an open source product should work.

Yes, we get free software and the owners of the "open source" software get millions of dollars of free input.

We should be on the same team and not constantly reminded how lucky we are to use "free" software.

In this case, it should be a simple on/off button.

Re: How to disable Affiliates functionality

Posted: Mon May 04, 2020 8:19 pm
by straightlight
MysticKnight wrote:
Mon May 04, 2020 5:37 pm
We question it because an open source product should work.

Yes, we get free software and the owners of the "open source" software get millions of dollars of free input.

We should be on the same team and not constantly reminded how lucky we are to use "free" software.

In this case, it should be a simple on/off button.
While it may be easy to believe that a button should work like magic, it takes time to develop a project. Nothing can take two minutes to work with such features.

Re: How to disable Affiliates functionality

Posted: Tue May 05, 2020 4:35 am
by MysticKnight
If I remember correctly, I think the first message that I saw about this topic was in 2011.

How much time does it take?

Re: How to disable Affiliates functionality

Posted: Tue May 05, 2020 4:37 am
by straightlight
How much time does it take?
By simply following the instructions from the Github link on the above, it should only take a few minutes depending on how quick and well the instructions can be followed. However, if you're referring to the project reply from my previous post, it's always based on the type and the size of the project.

Re: How to disable Affiliates functionality

Posted: Tue May 05, 2020 10:53 am
by MysticKnight
Yeah, I’m talking about it being an extension that you can easily turn on and off.

I’m sure the majority of people don’t have affiliate programs anyway, so I’m not sure why it was so hard coded to begin with.

But since people started pointing out that exact problem in 2011, and many times since then, I figured someone would have fixed it by now.

Re: [SOLVED] - How to disable Affiliates functionality

Posted: Mon May 25, 2020 10:19 am
by gurubob
Yeah that's a bit nuts that it's not just a toggle. I'm going to remove the link from our design, not going to bother making the backend change, it will just make it harder to upgrade later.

Re: [SOLVED] - How to disable Affiliates functionality

Posted: Mon May 25, 2020 7:36 pm
by straightlight
gurubob wrote:
Mon May 25, 2020 10:19 am
Yeah that's a bit nuts that it's not just a toggle. I'm going to remove the link from our design, not going to bother making the backend change, it will just make it harder to upgrade later.
You might be right on this one regarding the back-end change. However, I just realized that also removing the links won't help in this case since, either deactivating the feature or hiding the links, will affect the SEOs and POS which is the reason I believe why Daniel did not set a deactivation feature for it in the first place and the same applies for product returns ... :ponder: