Post by Dalbas » Thu Oct 17, 2019 4:53 am

Hi,
I've tried to upgrade my opencart version to 3.0.3.2. After uploading files. I get an error 500. Can you please help me?

Post by opencartmart » Fri Oct 18, 2019 4:05 pm

You can not upgrade OC by simply coping files. If your store does not have any significant data, simply do a fresh installation

XForm - Opencart Form Builder
Xshippingpro - An advanced Shipping Module
Need Professional support? Skype: opencartmart

Post by natvalve » Mon Oct 28, 2019 12:57 am

I have been using Opencart for many years and started with Opencart 1.5.6.1 then upgraded to 2.0.3.1 and now to 3.0.3.2. A couple of years ago, I moved Opencart from the public_html directory to the secure_html directory and used .htaccess commands to redirect the traffic so the my Google Searches would not be interrupted. I also added a Security Certificate to the website about 1 1/2 years ago. When I upgraded to 3.0.3.2 I had all kinds of errors and the Website would not load nor would the admin portion. I tried changing everything in the config.php files and admin/config.php, but never got the site working. I had everything backed up, so I could always go back, but that did not work either as I believe there were some additional problems that my new security certificate and a Server upgrade to PHP7.2 upgrade was causing. I could install a new copy of of Opencart 3.0.3.2 and it worked fine except I would lose 1,000's of customer files and hundreds of products that were already on my server. Note that when I did the new install, I used "X_" preface in the mysql database so it would not write over my existing database files.
All that being said, here is how I fixed it and this should work for almost anybody:
1) Back up your files- The Public_html directory, Secure_html directory, and and the mysql database using Adminer (Free Download if you don't already have it).