Post by jafry » Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:58 pm

Hello everyone

I want to allow customer delete their account from the database and redirect them to the homepage when the account is removed

I tried my level best but because I don't understand opencart functionalities properly , I couldnt make it

can anyone help me how can I do it. I am using opencart version 3.0.3.2

Thank You

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon May 04, 2020 5:43 pm

Post by OSWorX » Thu Jun 18, 2020 7:04 pm

Hello,

deleting a customer - either per Admin or User himself - are just a few lines.
But (!), if a customer delete himself (while he has the right to delete his data see GDPR), you will loose all data you need afterwards and later for financial and legal issues.
Are you sure you want this?

Custom Development | Individuelle Entwicklung | Support & Bugfixes

Image Image Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by jafry » Sat Jun 20, 2020 6:00 pm

yes, I want to enable this feature for user panel. please help how can I do this
OSWorX wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 7:04 pm
Hello,

deleting a customer - either per Admin or User himself - are just a few lines.
But (!), if a customer delete himself (while he has the right to delete his data see GDPR), you will loose all data you need afterwards and later for financial and legal issues.
Are you sure you want this?

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon May 04, 2020 5:43 pm

Post by OSWorX » Sat Jun 20, 2020 6:30 pm

jafry wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 6:00 pm
yes, I want to enable this feature for user panel. please help how can I do this
Creating a feature like this, is quite simple.
But how about all related data?
Orders, order history, and so on ..?
What if he had a return?

You see, only deleting (or enabling such a feature) is not very hard to develop.
But what with all the other records which depend on that one user record ?

What with the order data, when the user has deleted himself, shall this record also be deleted?
Or only the user data?

You see, there is a bit more.
Think about that and tell us exactly what shall be deleted, what shall be masked, etc.
Then - maybe - you will get here a solution.
Or if not, you have to hire a developer.

Custom Development | Individuelle Entwicklung | Support & Bugfixes

Image Image Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by jafry » Wed Jun 24, 2020 4:46 pm

OSWorX wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 6:30 pm
jafry wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 6:00 pm
yes, I want to enable this feature for user panel. please help how can I do this
Creating a feature like this, is quite simple.
But how about all related data?
Orders, order history, and so on ..?
What if he had a return?

You see, only deleting (or enabling such a feature) is not very hard to develop.
But what with all the other records which depend on that one user record ?

What with the order data, when the user has deleted himself, shall this record also be deleted?
Or only the user data?

You see, there is a bit more.
Think about that and tell us exactly what shall be deleted, what shall be masked, etc.
Then - maybe - you will get here a solution.
Or if not, you have to hire a developer.
If I wanted to add a feature for customer so that they can disable their account . They dont need to delete. After disable they will get an email and they can again enable by login. How I can do it?

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon May 04, 2020 5:43 pm

Post by sw!tch » Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:20 pm

Why would someone want to disable their account and then have the ability to login again to enable it? It's not Facebook, don't understand the reason behind this.

Backup and [ learn how to recover ] before you make any changes.


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 28, 2012 2:32 pm

Post by jafry » Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:26 pm

sw!tch wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:20 pm
Why would someone want to disable their account and then have the ability to login again to enable it? It's not Facebook, don't understand the reason behind this.
Sometimes a customer may feel they dont want to visit my site and want to disable

User avatar
Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon May 04, 2020 5:43 pm

Post by straightlight » Wed Jun 24, 2020 6:30 pm

jafry wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:26 pm
sw!tch wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 5:20 pm
Why would someone want to disable their account and then have the ability to login again to enable it? It's not Facebook, don't understand the reason behind this.
Sometimes a customer may feel they dont want to visit my site and want to disable
For GDPR laws, better to consult a legal firm about it to save you all the trouble since the question is not only about knowing if you're sure you'd want this or not for the UK area.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Opencart.com Administrator / Quality Assurance Analyst / Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by OSWorX » Wed Jun 24, 2020 6:42 pm

jafry wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 4:46 pm
OSWorX wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 6:30 pm
jafry wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 6:00 pm
yes, I want to enable this feature for user panel. please help how can I do this
Creating a feature like this, is quite simple.
But how about all related data?
Orders, order history, and so on ..?
What if he had a return?

You see, only deleting (or enabling such a feature) is not very hard to develop.
But what with all the other records which depend on that one user record ?

What with the order data, when the user has deleted himself, shall this record also be deleted?
Or only the user data?

You see, there is a bit more.
Think about that and tell us exactly what shall be deleted, what shall be masked, etc.
Then - maybe - you will get here a solution.
Or if not, you have to hire a developer.
If I wanted to add a feature for customer so that they can disable their account . They dont need to delete. After disable they will get an email and they can again enable by login. How I can do it?
As others already mentioned: see no sence behind this.
And also all those related legal issues you may have (see GDPR and local laws as well financial regulations).
This is a Webshop and not a obscure "Social Network" or something else.

If you customer really wants to be DISABLED (what for ?), they can send you an email and you as admin can disable them.
Define such a procedere in a text (HTML) and publish that.
That is already possible and no additional work has to be done.

Custom Development | Individuelle Entwicklung | Support & Bugfixes

Image Image Image


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests