Post by runfromcops » Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:00 am

When I installed Opencart 1.5.3.1 I used software called "Softaculous" in Cpanel, the url I specified was https://cooziejunction.com/ however I didn't realize that I only needed the "https" for the account and checkout areas which opencart seems to use if enabled in the admin. I cannot change the url in the Softaculous program from https to http, there is an error "The URL and DIRECTORY name do not match".

I have SSL cert properly installed, account login and checkout are secure but I cannot seem to figure out how to change the default home page url to simply "http". Each browser is behaving differently towards it, I have a redirect for www.cooziejunction.com to http://cooziejunction.com that works fine in Chrome and Firefox but doesn't work in IE, which always wants to use "https" no matter what. In addition both Firefox and IE are showing insecure items on the https version of the home page, which is why I want the default and anything that gets typed (besides a direct request for https) to be delivered to "http://cooziejunction.com/" can someone point me in the right direction to solve this?

I appreciate your help.

Thanks.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:40 pm

Post by inactiveaccount9912 » Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:20 am

Edit the file config.php locatedin the root of your opencart store, and change the https to http on all the lines you can find it except for the 2 lines which specify the https server and https image directory.

Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Fri May 14, 2010 2:36 am

Post by runfromcops » Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:31 am

This has been done, as I've read that in several different posts. Which is why I don't understand why I'm still having this issue. Now, in the config.php file in the admin folder there is an additionl line under https for "catalog", but this is not there in the config.php file in public_html for https.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:40 pm

Post by bigchili » Sat Sep 15, 2012 1:00 am

Well if you're not too far into it, just delete OpenCart and re-install manually. I've never used those one click installers for reasons just like this. They almost always lead to problems at some point down the road...

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 16, 2012 3:00 am


Post by runfromcops » Sat Sep 15, 2012 1:05 am

Lesson learned there, actually I am pretty far into it, would it be difficult to reinstall manually at this point? Is there another way? Something else I could try?

Thanks.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:40 pm

Post by bigchili » Sat Sep 15, 2012 1:57 am

Make sure the following is done

1.) In your System Settings in admin panel, make sure your store URL is http:// and not https://

2.) Make sure your config.php and admin/config.php files are correct. The HTTP:// section should not contain https:// and vice versa.

3) Turn on SEO URL in your admin panel, again under the system settings.

4.) Clear your browser cache on all browsers (clear everything, not just history).

If the above doesn't work, then yeah you should delete and re-install.

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 16, 2012 3:00 am


Post by runfromcops » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:47 am

Ok, all of those are correct. I think there are 2 problems, one is that the redirect for www is going to the https home page, even though it does not state to do so in the .htaccess file (shows http). Second issue is that IE9 has a bug or something, because on my PC it will not go to http://cooziejunction.com even if it is typed exactly like that, I get a page not found error because it is trying to access http://cooziejunction.compublic_html, no one else is having this error so I think it's local, I've deleted everything (cache, files, etc.) from IE but still get the error so I think it's local and maybe I need to reinstall IE to fix. The only way I can see my website on IE9 is to type www then the address which redirects to https and shows the error that there are unsecure items. Ugh.

Thanks for your help, I'm still searching for the answer though.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:40 pm

Post by bigchili » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:53 am

Honestly it would probably be easier if you just started from scratch and install it manually this time.

Just download your product and category tables (and any other tables you might have already filled in like information etc.) then just restore them once you've finished with the re-install.

If you really need help I can do this for you.

And your .htaccess should look like this.

Code: Select all

# 1.To use URL Alias you need to be running apache with mod_rewrite enabled. 

# 2. In your opencart directory rename htaccess.txt to .htaccess.

# For any support issues please visit: http://www.opencart.com

Options +FollowSymlinks

# Prevent Directoy listing 
Options -Indexes

# Prevent Direct Access to files
<FilesMatch "\.(tpl|ini|log)">
 Order deny,allow
 Deny from all
</FilesMatch>

# SEO URL Settings
RewriteEngine On
# If your opencart installation does not run on the main web folder make sure you folder it does run in ie. / becomes /shop/ 

RewriteBase /
RewriteRule ^sitemap.xml$ index.php?route=feed/google_sitemap [L]
RewriteRule ^googlebase.xml$ index.php?route=feed/google_base [L]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !.*\.(ico|gif|jpg|jpeg|png|js|css)
RewriteRule ^([^?]*) index.php?_route_=$1 [L,QSA]

### Additional Settings that may need to be enabled for some servers 
### Uncomment the commands by removing the # sign in front of it.
### If you get an "Internal Server Error 500" after enabling any of the following settings, restore the # as this means your host doesn't allow that.

# 1. If your cart only allows you to add one item at a time, it is possible register_globals is on. This may work to disable it:
# php_flag register_globals off

# 2. If your cart has magic quotes enabled, This may work to disable it:
# php_flag magic_quotes_gpc Off

# 3. Set max upload file size. Most hosts will limit this and not allow it to be overridden but you can try
# php_value upload_max_filesize 999M

# 4. set max post size. uncomment this line if you have a lot of product options or are getting errors where forms are not saving all fields
# php_value post_max_size 999M

# 5. set max time script can take. uncomment this line if you have a lot of product options or are getting errors where forms are not saving all fields
# php_value max_execution_time 200

# 6. set max time for input to be recieved. Uncomment this line if you have a lot of product options or are getting errors where forms are not saving all fields
# php_value max_input_time 200

User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed May 16, 2012 3:00 am


Post by SXGuy » Sat Sep 15, 2012 5:30 am

its a simple mistake, you have accidently deleted "/" somewhere in your config.php files.

Copy and paste both here, delete any reference to your domain name and replace with *, and remove all mysql details, i wont need them.

I bet its simply the config.php files set up wrong.

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sun Nov 08, 2009 2:07 am

Post by runfromcops » Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:23 pm

Thanks for all the replies and assistance. It was a combination of things, in terms of IE9 I had to delete all cache for the domain and I had some favorites buried with incorrect links which were deleted and the IE9 issue was solved. Then I added some text to the .htaccess file which I found here http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php ... 7&start=60 lastly I changed the .htaccess for the www redirect to http from https. Everything seems ok right now.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:40 pm

Post by runfromcops » Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:29 pm

Actually, there were 2 .htaccess files and one was not located in the proper directory, so I added the redirect to the other .htaccess file.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Fri Sep 14, 2012 11:40 pm
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 316 guests