Post by nirajha » Tue Apr 20, 2021 12:27 am

Hi guys,
My website fabtolab.com is downed suddenly after changing some settings in the admin>settings, but not sure if that is the cause.
Subsequently we called the hosting guys and they changed the .htaccess and now the webpage is giving 500-internal server error.
The hosting guys say its a optimisation issue, I doubt.
We are in deep .. trouble.
Help please,
Niraj
Last edited by nirajha on Wed Apr 21, 2021 8:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 23, 2021 5:38 pm

Post by OSWorX » Tue Apr 20, 2021 2:35 am

nirajha wrote:
Tue Apr 20, 2021 12:27 am
.. is downed suddenly after changing some settings in the admin>settings, but not sure if that is the cause.
Subsequently we called the hosting guys and they changed the .htaccess and now the webpage is giving 500-internal server error.
The hosting guys say its a optimisation issue, I doubt.
And why not changing back what you've done?
A error 500 indicates a php-error - simply check your server log for related entries.

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by nirajha » Tue Apr 20, 2021 2:45 pm

Hi,

Sorry for not being specific enough..
What I meant by changing settings in the admin area was changing some settings in the admin area in the admin login at fabtolab.com/admin
Now this page itself is not accessible.
We have not changed anything in the hosting as such..
I don't know what changed suddenly and the website is downed !!
We are drowning, SOS.

thanks,
Niraj
+918095782777 (Voice/WhatsApp)

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 23, 2021 5:38 pm

Post by nirajha » Tue Apr 20, 2021 2:47 pm


Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 23, 2021 5:38 pm

Post by OSWorX » Tue Apr 20, 2021 2:53 pm

nirajha wrote:
Tue Apr 20, 2021 2:45 pm
What I meant by changing settings in the admin area was changing some settings in the admin area in the admin login
And what settings do you have changed?
What OpenCart Version are you using?

Is it so hard to tell us the minimum?

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by nirajha » Tue Apr 20, 2021 3:35 pm

Hi,

Thanks for taking time out for replying first of all.
The settings changed were Business related, as to what statuses should reduce the stock and what should not etc..
We changed Processing Order Status(few ticks added), Complete Order Status (few ticks added), show out of stock warning (No to Yes) etc..
We recently (March End) migrated from OC 1.5.4 to OC 3.0.3.3 because our PHP had migrated from 5.6 to 7.3.6
Thanks !!

Let me know,
Niraj

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 23, 2021 5:38 pm

Post by OSWorX » Tue Apr 20, 2021 4:09 pm

nirajha wrote:
Tue Apr 20, 2021 3:35 pm
We recently (March End) migrated from OC 1.5.4 to OC 3.0.3.3 because our PHP had migrated from 5.6 to 7.3.6
So not a new, fresh installation, it is a update?
Made manual or by the update script?

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by nirajha » Tue Apr 20, 2021 4:33 pm

Hi,

We took professional help of a company that specialises in Migrations.
I suppose they would have done a fresh install and then migrated the databases/tables one by one.

Thanks,
Niraj

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 23, 2021 5:38 pm

Post by OSWorX » Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:05 pm

"Supposing" is not "knowing"!
Ask them and post it here.

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by nirajha » Wed Apr 21, 2021 7:54 pm

Yes,
The made a fresh new install of OpenCart 3.0.3.3 (most latest stable OC version per them) and then they migrated the data, table by table.
Thanks,
Niraj

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 23, 2021 5:38 pm

Post by straightlight » Wed Apr 21, 2021 7:58 pm

nirajha wrote:
Tue Apr 20, 2021 4:33 pm
Hi,

We took professional help of a company that specialises in Migrations.
I suppose they would have done a fresh install and then migrated the databases/tables one by one.

Thanks,
Niraj
Not a bug, in this case. If this upgrade process was done professionally, and ending up in a critical state with your store, I would get in touch with them and explain the situation. If the issue is still not resolved, I would suggest to revert the changes by using restoration points from your domain on your host console and to request a refund from the user or company. Then, to create a new service request in the Commercial Support section of the forum, or contact me directly via PM, to get this done properly as a custom job.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by nirajha » Wed Apr 21, 2021 8:01 pm

Hi All,
This problem is solved and its my duty to inform all what the problem creator was and the solution.
This should be an eye opener for store owners and developers alike..
Under settings there is an option which says, "Category Product Count? Yes/No"
There was a ? attempting to explain what it meant, but since I knew what it meant, I did not pay heed to the warning in the same.
Rest is what brought me here and two days of sales hit..
-Niraj
Take precautions guys, wear a mask.
Last edited by nirajha on Wed Apr 21, 2021 8:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 23, 2021 5:38 pm

Post by straightlight » Wed Apr 21, 2021 8:05 pm

nirajha wrote:
Wed Apr 21, 2021 8:01 pm
Hi All,
This problem is solved and its my duty to inform all what the problem creator was and the solution.
This should be an eye opener for store owners and developers alike..
Under settings there is an option which says, "Category Product Count? Yes/No"
There was a ? attempting to explain what it meant, but since I knew what it meant, I did not pay head to the warning in the same.
Rest is what brought me here and two days of sales hit..
-Niraj
XOXO
Take precautions guys, wear a mask.
Glad to nailed out the root cause regarding a server resource issue rather than an actual bug. Now that the issue has been solved, please add [SOLVED] at the beginning of the subject line on your first post.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by nirajha » Wed Apr 21, 2021 8:10 pm

Hi Light,
If I may ask one last question..
Glad to nailed out the root cause regarding a server resource issue rather than an actual bug.
IS my server resources available so thinned out that a slight (or not so slight) increase in the SQL load will lead to a website drown..
Do you suggest upgrading to a VPS hosting. Right now am at shared cloud hosting..
Thanks a ton !!
-Niraj

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 23, 2021 5:38 pm

Post by straightlight » Wed Apr 21, 2021 9:07 pm

nirajha wrote:
Wed Apr 21, 2021 8:10 pm
Hi Light,
If I may ask one last question..
Glad to nailed out the root cause regarding a server resource issue rather than an actual bug.
IS my server resources available so thinned out that a slight (or not so slight) increase in the SQL load will lead to a website drown..
Do you suggest upgrading to a VPS hosting. Right now am at shared cloud hosting..
Thanks a ton !!
-Niraj
Depending on the demands and products you have to handle on an everyday basis, I would still suggest to upgrade to a decent VPS hosting (not only the basic packaging). Shared hosting packages have never been a friendly environment to work into for E-Commerce platforms.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests