Post by Dakinariten » Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:46 pm

Hello,

I'm a 4th year CompSci student, and am seeking your help - for my final year project I am investigating leveraging containers to make an Opencart website more scalable (and highly available). One of my lecturers suggested implementing built-in MySQL scaling e.g. Master/Slave, however from research it seems that Opencart does not natively support the separation of read/write.

I did find a post on the Opencart 2.0 support about using MySQL proxy to overcome this, however I have no experience between Opencart 2 & 3, so have no idea if it is applicable.

For the container I am currently using Bitnami, however I will also be looking at a custom container image for comparison

I would appreciate any help in pointing me in the right direction, as my Google Fu has proved relatively fruitless thus-far
Last edited by Dakinariten on Wed Jan 19, 2022 9:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post by mikeinterserv » Mon Jan 17, 2022 11:52 pm

Dakinariten wrote:
Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:46 pm
One of my lecturers suggested implementing built-in MySQL scaling e.g. Master/Slave,
Yep - typical of overcomplicating a thing - well - because.
If you are building the next Amazon then continue, If not, you are looking at a myriad of complications that will increase the cost and maintenance of the project beyond economic viability in most instances.

You can have a look at this also.
https://cloud.google.com/architecture/e ... nvironment

Location - Wales

Post by paulfeakins » Tue Jan 18, 2022 10:18 pm

Dakinariten wrote:
Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:46 pm
One of my lecturers suggested implementing built-in MySQL scaling
Instead I'd suggest looking more in to caching as much as possible.

There are loads of cache plugins for OpenCart from Lightening to NitroPack Cache to LiteSpeed etc. (https://www.litespeedtech.com/products/ ... celeration)