Post by tsloc » Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:20 am

Dear all,

I´m trying to change the review character limit from default 25-1000 to 5-3000 for example, but it´s still not working for me. I have adjust the info in file catalog/controller/product/product.php and also changed the warning text for error messages to the new recommendations. When I try to do a review the character limit is still 25 characters or more. I have tried to cleared the cache as well.

Anyone that have any tips about what I can try next?


Best regards Thomas

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:15 am

Post by straightlight » Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:34 am

In your catalog/controller/product/product.php file,

find:

Code: Select all

if ((utf8_strlen($this->request->post['text']) < 25) || (utf8_strlen($this->request->post['text']) > 1000)) {
You can change 25 and 1000 value from this line.

Dedication and passion goes to those who are able to push and merge a project.

Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by tsloc » Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:37 am

Thanks for your reply straightlight,

I have tried to adjust this file without success. It feels like this is a cache problem.


Best regards Thomas

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:15 am

Post by straightlight » Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:23 am

Empty the Opencart and browsing cache. Close the browser, reload the browser, reload your site and try again including with other browsers.

Dedication and passion goes to those who are able to push and merge a project.

Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by tsloc » Sun Oct 08, 2017 7:17 am

This is strange, because I still have the same limit with at least 25 characters or more when it comes to the review limit. The controller file is updated correctly. When it comes to the OP cache, is it any other folder then "system/storage/cache" I should take a look at? I have also cleared the vqmod but I don´t think the problem is there. I´m not a programmer, but I´m really confused now...

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:15 am

Post by straightlight » Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:59 am

Try with another browser to see if the change has reflected.

Dedication and passion goes to those who are able to push and merge a project.

Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by tsloc » Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:04 pm

Hello again,

No success... Same "problem" in Explorer and Firefox (I´m using Chrome by default). It feels like I have been missing something ???

1. Changed the catalog/controller/product/product.php
2. Cleared the OC cache (system/storage/cache - this folder is empty nearly all the time due to the cache function is turned off by my custom theme because the store is in maintenance mode)
3. Clared the browsers cache

Is it something I missing here? The changes worked out really smooth in my 1.5.6.4 store...

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:15 am

Post by Reptile » Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:34 pm

Did you refresh your Modification cache?
Sometimes this will help.

All my extensions: Click here or Click here


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 30, 2012 7:23 pm
Location - The Netherlands

Post by tsloc » Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:06 pm

That solved the limit problem! Thanks for your tip, really simple mistake that I totally forgot...

By the way, when I writing a test review I can not move my text marker back and forth in the text. Instead the product pictures rearrange themselfs in the background on the regular product page. Really annoying if someone want to for example correct or change the first words in a ongoing review. Is this something that can be fixed easily? I remember I have the same thing in my older OC store 1.5.6.4.

Thanks for all the support so far!

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:15 am

Post by straightlight » Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:07 pm

Let's try this. In your catalog/view/javascript/common.js file,

find:

Code: Select all

// Currency
add above:

Code: Select all

$('.form-horizontal').bind('keydown', function (e) {
		if (e.keyCode == 40 || e.keyCode == 39 || e.keyCode == 38 || e.keyCode == 37) {
			alert(e.keyCode);
		}
	});
Source: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/140 ... -js-jquery

Note: Re-clear all cache.
Last edited by straightlight on Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dedication and passion goes to those who are able to push and merge a project.

Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by tsloc » Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:13 pm

Thanks straightlight,

I tried to use your code but I still have the same result. I can change the text marker between start-end of the text by using the up-down arrows on the keyboard. I can klick with the mouse cursor in the whole text, but not navigare around trough the keyboard arrows. This is acually not a big problem, but maybe the problem is not so hard to get rid of.

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:15 am

Post by straightlight » Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:49 pm

Instructions edited above. When pressing the arrows, you should now notice 4 different alert boxes for troubleshooting purposes.

Dedication and passion goes to those who are able to push and merge a project.

Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by tsloc » Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:23 am

Thanks for your reply! It´s still same problem... I start to loose my hope for this time :D

Can some extensions be a part of this issue? I´m using a custom theme together with several modules. It´s just that I remember the same situation with my old store...

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:15 am

Post by straightlight » Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:24 am

Put your site under maintenance mode. Switch back to the default template and see if the issue persists with the reviews. Afterwards, disable the site maintenance mode.

Dedication and passion goes to those who are able to push and merge a project.

Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by tsloc » Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:57 am

I did the test and changed to default theme. When I tried to move the text marker with arrows, the homepage gave me messages 37 for left and 39 for right. The marker moved one step at the time when I clicked ok button in the message window after every message. This message is not showing when I have the custom theme active.

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:15 am

Post by straightlight » Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:21 am

For the numbers showing, that is part of the troubleshooting, it is normal. If you switch back to the default theme, can you reproduce the same issue when posting your review?

Dedication and passion goes to those who are able to push and merge a project.

Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by tsloc » Sat Oct 14, 2017 6:51 pm

Thanks for your reply! I just talked with the theme developer and they said that the problem caused by the product page and the key action for the product pictures. They going to update the theme with this adjustment together with the next update release.

Thanks once again for all support from you!


Best regards Thomas

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:15 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 273 guests