Post by JuJue » Sun Jan 05, 2020 7:35 am

So I changed the thumb to

Code: Select all

{% if thumb %}
	<div class="col-sm-8 img-category">
		<img src="{{ thumb }}" alt="{{ heading_title }}" title="{{ heading_title }}" class="img-thumbnail" />
	</div>
{% endif %}
{% if description %}
	<div class="col-sm-4">{{ description }}</div>
{% endif %}
Yet, while the column widths have changed, the category image is still the same 2 column width size.
Yes I flushed the cache
Yes I cleared the browser cache
Yes I restarted the browser
Yes I used different browsers
Yes I flushed the server cache
Yes I flushed my local engine cache
Yes I restarted my local engine
Anything I'd missed to flush?
-
Seriously Opencart, you need to fix your caching issue, just - don't cache anything. Much better and millions less headache.

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Feb 15, 2019 10:40 am
Location - Australia

Post by by mona » Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:01 am

Post a webpage and someone can check ..

The caching on OC3 works just fine if you know how to use it.
You an turn it off in the dashboard and the other caching is the modifications.

You did not state an opencart Version, the file you changed, if you are using a theme, if there are modifications .. so no one can actually help you with the information you provided.

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by JuJue » Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:26 am

by mona wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:01 am
Post a webpage and someone can check ..

The caching on OC3 works just fine if you know how to use it.
How to use it?
How can I use it other than the OC# version uses it? You lost me there!
You an turn it off in the dashboard and the other caching is the modifications.
Sorry, lost me again; ..."other caching is the modification"
What "other" caching and - how can another caching be the modification and moreover, ..."What" modification?
You did not state an opencart Version, the file you changed, if you are using a theme, if there are modifications .. so no one can actually help you with the information you provided.
Sorry, you're right, I missed that.
I use OC version 3.0.2.0
I use a Zemez theme https://www.templatemonster.com/demo/84365.html
and I tried to change the display width relationship of category image and category description form 2/10 to 8/4 int the category.twig
Since the twig editor within opencart admin didn't work I also tried to edit it online but neither way seem to be accepted
-
Look, I go off on opencart, yes, I understand that. I also understand that opencart is open source. All fine and I am willing to engage a developer to get certain modifications done. That said, simple things like I mentioned in my post should really NOT call for a developer and should work.
-
Zemez?
Hopeless, indeed. I gave up even communicating with them. As always, comes worse to worse, they start pointing. Either to my server or opencart.
I really try to avoid joining this finger pointing game.
Regarding opencart?
Opencart need to look into who is selling themes for their platform and make sure, their themes work. Why, In the end it will come back to opencart. Simple as that and if it ends parties pointing at each other rather than solving an issue, guess what.

I may have a straight mouth, yes, but opencart can thank me for it as i am not silently walking away as if there wasn't an issue and talk then bad behind their back. By addressing this fiasco, they have the opportunity to fix .

then again, I understand it's business and business is brutal. Got that, too, for sure.

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Feb 15, 2019 10:40 am
Location - Australia

Post by by mona » Sun Jan 05, 2020 10:03 am

1. your template might be caching
2. your server might be caching
3. ADMIN => EXTENSIONS => MODIFICATION => clear caching / refresh caching
4. I meant hardcode? modification file? default file? or template file?
i.e. the actual file location catalog/view/theme ...... .category.twig
5. Understand Opencart works like Opencart works - accept it ..
The idea is (and I agree with it) not to change core files, but to write a modification.
Then you would refresh your modification file .. and that is OCMOD ..
and maybe you are using vQmod ?

No one has a problem if you ask for assistance .. if it is out of the scope of support you will be re-directed to the commercial section - what you are asking here is exactly what the forum is for .. but a please and a thank you will get you a lot further .. everyone gets stressed .. but .. as I have said on the other post - WE DO NOT WORK FOR OPENCART .. we are just people who try to help .. some people here are touting for business, but not all of us .. some of us are just nice and knowledgable ..

Opencart is not responsible for themes .. and most people here will agree with you about the themes and compatibility ..

No one here will thank you for pointing out your gripes and Opencart will not either. Opencart has move on in heaps and bounds since its first release, it is still a baby project and is the idea of one person .. he will decide the priorities.

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by JuJue » Sun Jan 05, 2020 10:31 am

All understood.
Which means, and as I said, I am stuck between ZEMEZ and opencart, one blaming the other.
No matter how much baby baby is. Philosophies like that can't be expected to be accepted.
I know what you'll say again. No need. I got it.
Thanks for your reality reinforcement.

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Feb 15, 2019 10:40 am
Location - Australia

Post by by mona » Sun Jan 05, 2020 10:49 am

Well at the moment I am trying to help you but you are not giving me the information.

please provide the actual file location you changed
catalog/view/theme ...... .category.twig (the ... bit)

are you using OCMOD / vqmod ?

It really would help if you provided a link to your site .. if you do not want to post you can PM me.

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by JuJue » Sun Jan 05, 2020 12:10 pm

by mona wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 10:49 am
Well at the moment I am trying to help you but you are not giving me the information.

please provide the actual file location you changed
catalog/view/theme ...... .category.twig (the ... bit)

are you using OCMOD / vqmod ?

It really would help if you provided a link to your site .. if you do not want to post you can PM me.
Appreciate it!

Well as stated earlier:
I use OC version 3.0.2.0
I use a Zemez theme https://www.templatemonster.com/demo/84365.html
and I tried to change the display width relationship of category image and category description form 2/10 to 8/4 int the - Yes - category.twig

As far as I know (because I use the ZEMEZ theme, No, I don't use vqMOD. OCMOD? Honestly, I don't know but I assume (given the use of the ZEMEZ theme).

-

Despite everybody telling opencart's caching works perfectly, I face immense issues with and I literally need to clear caches often times manually just to see changes made (often times those changes are stripped back to the original the moment I hit "Save".

Is it opencart? Is it ZEMEZ? I don't know. Zemes pointed at my server and opencart. As mentioned, I also work in Prestashop and have Zero caching issues. The moment I change anything, changes are applied and visible instantly. So I take the liberty to say; I don't believe I have a server issue.

That said, I Do, however, get a lot of strange errors while working in opencart admin ( I have error reporting enabled).

-

Another thing and I send you the link separately, on the category page (coming back to the category.twig), it appears the moment I set the category thumb image to 4 columns (col-sm-4) it doesn't accept it. Max size shown is 3 columns. Why? I have no clue! - Again, I wouldn't even dare to ask ZEMEZ again. Waste of time, indeed. Unfortunately I am not a PHP programmer and don't completely understand the opencart architecture to be able to dig into and solve it myself..

That's why I am so pissed off, Mona. I just can't see the necessity behind having to hack some code which should work perfectly from the beginning.

Is it just one or two, fine. But since 3 weeks I am now on this and haven't moved, really. Tell me what can be more frustrating and I won't be frustrated any longer from my stand point. ;-)

Thanks

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Feb 15, 2019 10:40 am
Location - Australia

Post by by mona » Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:36 pm

I do not think your caching is this problem, but I am not sure .. I am going to try to help you move forward .. and try to make you smile ..

Is it Opencart? extremely doubtful
Is it Zemez? (template monster) possibly, but also doubtful …
Is it the server? .. actually that is becoming more and more likely (globally not your issue specifically) … but I still don’t think so ..
Is it between the keyboard and the chair? … and I mean that in the nicest possible way .. most likely and you will understand why I think that below .. so .. lets find the problem ..

as for the strange errors .. they are most likely to be from your theme (or maybe extensions, but one step at a time). I do not have a single error and I work with Opencart all the time …

Understand, you purchased a theme from a 3rd party from a 3rd party site THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE .. and you will work out why now …


THE PROBLEM - The rest is just chit chat .. and I much prefer sparkle
I do not think you changed the right file .. so this is what we are going to do ..
using ftp .. not the admin editor - by ftp I mean download file upload file .. or edit on your hosting panel ..

***** catalog/view/theme/zemez1041/template/catalog/category.twig .. my mistake sorry ..

find

Code: Select all

<div class="col-sm-2 img-category">
and change to

Code: Select all

<div class="col-sm-8 img-category">
change

Code: Select all

<div class="col-sm-10">
to

Code: Select all

<div class="col-sm-4">
Then you go to
ADMIN => EXTENSIONS =>MODIFICATIONS
in the top right - click the orange button to clear and then the blue button to refresh

Then go to
ADMIN => DASHBOARD
In the top right there is a cog, clear both of those (you will see there is also a developers mode to use so it turns it off)

Then go to your browser and clear cache

and then .. if it is not working, personally I would check on a mobile phone or some other browser you have definitely not used to check .. then come back




PUT THIS LINK IN YOUR BOOKMARKS
https://github.com/opencart/opencart/wi ... art-Basics

FIND OUT IF YOU HAVE EXTENSIONS / OCMOD / VQMOD
ADMIN => EXTENSIONS => INSTALLER .. is there anything there? that is OCMOD Extensions
ADMIN => EXTENSIONS => MODIFICATIONS .. is there anything there?
see the tab LOG .. very useful ..

Using ftp .. do you have a folder directly in the root director VQMOD? that is your vqmod Extensions

Whilst you can use OCMOD and VQMOD together, you need to understand why, you don’t .. stick with OCMOD.


I hope all of that is clear ..
Last edited by by mona on Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by by mona » Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:52 pm

Once you have done that
Go to
ADMIN => EXTENSIONS => EXTENSIONS => THEMES (top dropdown)

change the size of the image to be as you want
then .. REFRESH YOUR CACHE ..

Attachments

Screen-Shot-2020-01-05.jpg

Screen-Shot-2020-01-05.jpg (28.84 KiB) Viewed 1728 times


DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by JuJue » Sun Jan 05, 2020 2:21 pm

by mona wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:36 pm
***** catalog/view/theme/zemez1041/template/catalog/category.twig .. my mistake sorry ..
find

Code: Select all

<div class="col-sm-2 img-category">
and change to

Code: Select all

<div class="col-sm-8 img-category">
Hi Mona, you made me smile already ...between the keyboard and the chair ;-)

Though, I need to disappoint you. Hopefully I won't make you dry now, Lol.

Mona, all done, except using your suggested changes to the width. I used 4 and 8 (=12) However, I notice ONE other, your path to the file and should that be all the reason then I need to say, ZEMEZ stuffed up badly. Because? My path to the category.twig file goes like ...catalog/view/theme/zemez1041/template/product/category.twig
As you can see, there is no second catalog folder before the twig file. Hm, ...

Other than that, as I said, All Done. Even more, Mona. I also used different browsers and also flushed my local engine's cache using the command line in terminal (on a Mac).

Oh, one more, I even pulled my chair closer to the keyboard O0

Where do we go from here?

Thanks you very much for your time, Mona

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Feb 15, 2019 10:40 am
Location - Australia

Post by JuJue » Sun Jan 05, 2020 2:33 pm

by mona wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:36 pm
PUT THIS LINK IN YOUR BOOKMARKS
https://github.com/opencart/opencart/wi ... art-Basics

FIND OUT IF YOU HAVE EXTENSIONS / OCMOD / VQMOD
ADMIN => EXTENSIONS => INSTALLER .. is there anything there? that is OCMOD Extensions
ADMIN => EXTENSIONS => MODIFICATIONS .. is there anything there?
see the tab LOG .. very useful ..
Regarding OCMOD and VQMOD, not a single path to VQMOD. ZEMEZ used all in OCMOD, Extensions Installer History is all full with ZEMEZ ocmod zip files like:
zemez_live_search.ocmod.zip
zemez_header.ocmod.zip

No cross walking there, neither.

Yes, I do Understand the theme is a third party thing and I wish I wouldn't have ever dealt with ZEMEZ (hopeless case, indeed) Would Not recommend to my worst enemy. So that I can forget (tried with ZEMEZ the past couple weeks and ended up, ... better leave it at that. ;-)

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Feb 15, 2019 10:40 am
Location - Australia

Post by by mona » Sun Jan 05, 2020 2:34 pm

you are welcome

that was my mistake .. I forgot the template and I wrote catalog - but I am glad one of us is awake ...
I am tired ..

Right .. great .. it has changed .. 4 and 8 .. it is not caching ..
you need to change the image size as screenshot above (should be) ... and then you should see the change ..
something like 300 height by 500 width
Last edited by by mona on Sun Jan 05, 2020 2:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by JuJue » Sun Jan 05, 2020 2:40 pm

by mona wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:52 pm
Once you have done that
Go to
ADMIN => EXTENSIONS => EXTENSIONS => THEMES (top dropdown)

change the size of the image to be as you want
then .. REFRESH YOUR CACHE ..
And after all that, this issue was That Simple. Heaven forbid.
Again,
would ZEMES just provide a decent manual, I believe many headaches could be cured just the same easy way!

You are an angel, Mona, you know that, don't you? If not, now you know.

User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Fri Feb 15, 2019 10:40 am
Location - Australia

Post by by mona » Sun Jan 05, 2020 2:44 pm

;D I am so glad you fixed this .. now I am going to sleep happy I helped ..
250px x 500px should be good

Happy Sunday
I have just seen where you are .. stay safe :-\

DISCLAIMER:
You should not modify core files .. if you would like to donate a cup of coffee I will write it in a modification for you.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXIxDoCRc84


User avatar
Expert Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:31 am

Post by chongshengdz » Sun Jan 05, 2020 10:30 pm

you can delete your cache by visiting
/system/storage/cache
and delete all the files and folders in the cache folder.

Electronic Components: integrated circuits, ic, semiconductors, transistors, thyristors, fuses, resistors, diodes, capacitors & more.
buy & sell transistors & mosfet


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:18 pm

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 415 guests