Post by Bobbio999 » Wed Mar 25, 2020 11:31 pm

Hi,

Please help.

We are running Opencart 2.1.0.1 with PHP Version 5.6.

Our host has just moved us onto a new VPS server and says we have to update the code to Versions PHP 7.1 to 7.3.

Could anybody advise what we need to do as we are now seemingly going out of business.

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Apr 16, 2015 11:19 pm

Post by IP_CAM » Wed Mar 25, 2020 11:38 pm

Replace your system/library/encryption.php file with this one:
https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=38012

Please don't send me OC Forum Personal Messages, just contact: jti@jacob.ch
---
OC 1.5.6.5 LIGHT Test Site: http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/
OC 1.5.6.5 V-PRO Test Site: http://www.openshop.li/shop/
My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
2'600+ FREE OC Extensions on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by straightlight » Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:24 am

Bobbio999 wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 11:31 pm
Hi,

Please help.

We are running Opencart 2.1.0.1 with PHP Version 5.6.

Our host has just moved us onto a new VPS server and says we have to update the code to Versions PHP 7.1 to 7.3.

Could anybody advise what we need to do as we are now seemingly going out of business.
PHP v5.6+ is no longer supported by the Industry. It would be suggested to upgrade to PHP v7.3 or above.

The most generated errors being found on Opencart forum originates from contributed programming. The increased post counters are caused by redundancies of the same solutions that were already provided prior.


Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester


Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:38 pm
Location - Canada, ON

Post by Bobbio999 » Thu Mar 26, 2020 2:23 am

Thank you for the reply.

Or question is HOW do we upgrade our OpenCart to PHP 7.

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Apr 16, 2015 11:19 pm

Post by IP_CAM » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:07 am

I already replied to your Question above, so, where is our Problem ?

Please don't send me OC Forum Personal Messages, just contact: jti@jacob.ch
---
OC 1.5.6.5 LIGHT Test Site: http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/
OC 1.5.6.5 V-PRO Test Site: http://www.openshop.li/shop/
My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
2'600+ FREE OC Extensions on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by Bobbio999 » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:23 am

Hi @ IP_CAM

A million thanks.

Is it really that simple, we just replace the 1 file

....the encryption.php file (in system/library dir) with your newer version?

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Apr 16, 2015 11:19 pm

Post by OSWorX » Thu Mar 26, 2020 5:57 am

Bobbio999 wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:23 am
Hi @ IP_CAM

A million thanks.

Is it really that simple, we just replace the 1 file

....the encryption.php file (in system/library dir) with your newer version?
As long as you do not use php 7.4 or higher, it is the solution.

Custom Development | Individuelle Entwicklung | Support & Bugfixes

Image Image Image


User avatar
Guru Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by Bobbio999 » Thu Mar 26, 2020 11:13 pm

The PHP Version is 7.3.

Our host has to be the worst host out there TSOHost also known as GoDaddy. We are desperatley trying to move hosts, can anybody recommend a good host.

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Apr 16, 2015 11:19 pm

Post by OSWorX » Thu Mar 26, 2020 11:58 pm

Bobbio999 wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 11:13 pm
The PHP Version is 7.3.

Our host has to be the worst host out there TSOHost also known as GoDaddy. We are desperatley trying to move hosts, can anybody recommend a good host.
Where are you or your business is located?

Custom Development | Individuelle Entwicklung | Support & Bugfixes

Image Image Image


User avatar
Guru Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by Bobbio999 » Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:53 am

We are located in the UK. We have 7 ecommerce sites, which tsohost moved to VPS server at a cost of £1000 per annum.

Since then, nothing but issues.

Also, their support is off the charts useless. A phone number that is answered after 30 mins by a guy who sounds like he's just woke up, and all he has the authority to do is say he will escalate with the engineers. Result is you may get an email from an engineer over the next 24hours.

New member

Posts

Joined
Thu Apr 16, 2015 11:19 pm

Post by IP_CAM » Fri Mar 27, 2020 4:27 am

If you're looking for TOP Swiss Quality, check here: ;)
Even Government Agencies, like the SWISS POST, are using it.
I use the SMART Solution, but even the STANDARD would do,
if one only uses/has a few Sites. You might check one of the
Sites, I linked below, to find out, how speedy it is.
https://www.hostpoint.ch/

Please don't send me OC Forum Personal Messages, just contact: jti@jacob.ch
---
OC 1.5.6.5 LIGHT Test Site: http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/
OC 1.5.6.5 V-PRO Test Site: http://www.openshop.li/shop/
My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
2'600+ FREE OC Extensions on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by Dorothys » Sun Apr 05, 2020 10:37 pm

If your current OpenCart store already has multiple extensions, modifications, themes and custom functionality Upsers.com , there might be complications if you update the PHP version without making sure that everything will still work.
Last edited by Dorothys on Mon Apr 06, 2020 2:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Sun Apr 05, 2020 10:34 pm

Post by IP_CAM » Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:32 am

Well, unaware of, if this is directly related to PHP7+, I modified some Files,
to be according latest spec's. They replace some default OC v.1.5.6.4 - 1.5.6.5_rc
Files, and they might work in older v.1.5.6.x Versions too, but I did not check
on that. It's all about the Pagination Section, where this:

Code: Select all

if (isset($this->request->get['page'])) {
	$page = $this->request->get['page'];
	} else {
	$page = 1;
	}
has been changed to this:

Code: Select all

if (isset($this->request->get['page'])) {
	$page = (int)$this->request->get['page'];
	} else {
	$page = 1;
	}
One of the Pro's might know, why it was changed to an INT Routine,
and if it has been done, because of PHP7 , or then for some other reason ... ???
It's just too far out for a colorblind Coder, to understand... :laugh: But as long
as something works, and it does, it's ok with me ... ;)
Ernie
PS: The PHP 7+ system/library/encryption.php File is already included too!

Please don't send me OC Forum Personal Messages, just contact: jti@jacob.ch
---
OC 1.5.6.5 LIGHT Test Site: http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/
OC 1.5.6.5 V-PRO Test Site: http://www.openshop.li/shop/
My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
2'600+ FREE OC Extensions on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by OSWorX » Mon Apr 06, 2020 1:45 pm

IP_CAM wrote:
Mon Apr 06, 2020 3:32 am
One of the Pro's might know, why it was changed to an INT Routine,
and if it has been done, because of PHP7 , or then for some other reason ... ???

That is called: typecasting.
See: https://www.php.net/manual/de/language. ... ggling.php

And has nothing to do with php 7 (or any other version).
Just a small piece of "good" coding (as it should be always when you get a value a user might have "manipulated").

Reason?
Whenever you receive or submit a value, it could be of any type: a string, an integer an so on.

Adding here the (int) transforms the received value in any case into an integer.

So having this (the original)

Code: Select all

$this->request->get['page'];
was leading in the past to errors.
That's why it is now:

Code: Select all

(int)$this->request->get['page'];
p.s.: as can be read (see the link above), "typecasting" can be applied to all values.

Custom Development | Individuelle Entwicklung | Support & Bugfixes

Image Image Image


User avatar
Guru Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by IP_CAM » Tue Apr 07, 2020 12:09 am

Thank you for the Information. ;)

Please don't send me OC Forum Personal Messages, just contact: jti@jacob.ch
---
OC 1.5.6.5 LIGHT Test Site: http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/
OC 1.5.6.5 V-PRO Test Site: http://www.openshop.li/shop/
My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
2'600+ FREE OC Extensions on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by Shirlows » Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:19 pm

OpenCart is a PHP-based platform for building an E-Commerce store. The core of your site is built using this programming language and updating it should not be the last of your priorities MyAARPMedicare
Last edited by Shirlows on Fri Apr 17, 2020 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Apr 16, 2020 7:17 pm

Post by IP_CAM » Thu Apr 16, 2020 11:17 pm

Dorothys wrote:
Sun Apr 05, 2020 10:37 pm
If your current OpenCart store already has multiple extensions, modifications, themes and custom functionality, there might be complications if you update the PHP version without making sure that everything will still work.
Well, just yesterday, I upgraded all my Grandma OC Installs, partly equipped with 100 + VqMods
among a big bunch of Modules, from PHP 7.2.x to PHP 7.3.x, without the slightest problem.
Only by trying to use PHP 7.4.x , it showed some VqMod-related Warning above the Top header
Section, the Page itself still worked. But I did not bother to make further checks, since PHP 7.3.x
will still be sufficient for some Time to come with my 1.5.6.5 :D
Ernie
---
Those system/library/encryption.php files should function in most OC Releases, and
that's all it takes, to make 'em work:
https://gist.github.com/IP-CAM/10e8ce67 ... 8c8af85ddc
https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=34428
https://www.opencart.com/index.php?rout ... n_id=38012

Please don't send me OC Forum Personal Messages, just contact: jti@jacob.ch
---
OC 1.5.6.5 LIGHT Test Site: http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/
OC 1.5.6.5 V-PRO Test Site: http://www.openshop.li/shop/
My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
2'600+ FREE OC Extensions on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by IP_CAM » Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:58 pm

Regarding the PHP 7.4 VqMod Warning I received, mentioned above, it had nothing
to do with Opencart itself, but with my Openshop TWEAKS VqModerator, looking for
a no longer existing VqMod (vqmod/openshop/) Subdirectory, originally beeing part
of famous MaxD's OpenShop Extension, and containing the Admin-related VqMods.
But I once moved those Admin VqMods into the default VqMod Sub, and after creating
an (empty) openshop Subdirectory, even my (aged :D) OC v.1.5.6.5_rc now works fine
with PHP v.7.4.4. PHP v.7.3 and less just did not bother about it, PHP 7.4.4 does ...
http://www.jacob.ch/shop/
---
Image

Please don't send me OC Forum Personal Messages, just contact: jti@jacob.ch
---
OC 1.5.6.5 LIGHT Test Site: http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/
OC 1.5.6.5 V-PRO Test Site: http://www.openshop.li/shop/
My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
2'600+ FREE OC Extensions on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by IP_CAM » Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:09 am

Just in case, should you ever receive a Warning like this: ;)
The Line Number might be different, it depends on the VqMod Version used !
Image

Please don't send me OC Forum Personal Messages, just contact: jti@jacob.ch
---
OC 1.5.6.5 LIGHT Test Site: http://www.bigmax.ch/shop/
OC 1.5.6.5 V-PRO Test Site: http://www.openshop.li/shop/
My Github OC Site: https://github.com/IP-CAM
2'600+ FREE OC Extensions on the World's largest Github OC Repository Archive Site.


User avatar
Legendary Member

Posts

Joined
Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:37 am
Location - Switzerland

Post by Cloudy9 » Sun Jun 21, 2020 11:53 pm

Bobbio999 wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:53 am
We are located in the UK. We have 7 ecommerce sites, which tsohost moved to VPS server at a cost of £1000 per annum.

Since then, nothing but issues.

Also, their support is off the charts useless. A phone number that is answered after 30 mins by a guy who sounds like he's just woke up, and all he has the authority to do is say he will escalate with the engineers. Result is you may get an email from an engineer over the next 24hours.
There are some very good hosts in the UK and there are some awfully poor ones along with some terrible ones, I used to pay for hosting many many moons ago and after various bad flavours of hosting decided to rent dedicated servers and run my own, after a steep learning curve I now have no downtime, no problems or issues and it all runs smoothly, if I ever have to shout at someone and complain I just look in the mirror.

If your looking for someone very very good with dedicated servers and VPS's then take a look at Clouvider, they have equipment in London, NY and Amsterdam among others, I use the London data centre and rent Dedicated servers (un-managed), although they do offer managed solutions (I have no experience of their linux skills though). Although at £1000 a year for 7 VPS's, you get what you pay for and without knowing the specs of your existing VPS's and what your running on them and your bandwidth etc etc then its hard to say what you would need from a decent provider.......

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Mon Jun 09, 2014 5:21 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests