Post by izzy0855 » Wed Sep 30, 2020 12:13 am

Hello, I have purchased and installed the "Tyres" Opencart 2.0 Template from Template Monster. When adding additional categories to the drop-down menu on the Home page, it will not increase the value more than 6 categories. I have changed the number of categories in the drop-downs in the "Settings" menu under "Options," but the number of categories will not increase. I have contacted Web Studio, (the company that designed the template) and they want $199 to customize the template. So, my question is? I'm an doing something wrong, did I miss a step? Is there another way increase the number of categories without customization? The website is, www.qwickconnectors.com

Thank you for any support you can give, I really appreciate it...
Rick

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Sep 30, 2020 12:01 am

Post by OSWorX » Wed Sep 30, 2020 1:14 am

izzy0855 wrote:
Wed Sep 30, 2020 12:13 am
.. and they want $199 to customize the template ..
A shame those people wanting such money for a simple, lousy job!
izzy0855 wrote:
Wed Sep 30, 2020 12:13 am
So, my question is? I'm an doing something wrong, did I miss a step? Is there another way increase the number of categories without customization?
Hard to say without knowing the template in detail.
From my experience, TemplateMonster is often offering template with very bad bugs!
Sometimes they respond fast(er) with a bugfix.
Sometimes not.

I do not know what this template in details can and will do.
Have you read something about thatz limitation somewhere?
If not, they have to expand it without any additional cost - my opinion.

But you can ask always another developer to look into that isse - while I belive it's a bug.
Overall, if you are not able to fix that by yourself, you have to pay something - but really not muhc for that, and of course not 199 U$ (or do they mean Australian, Baham, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, etc. $ ?).
izzy0855 wrote:
Wed Sep 30, 2020 12:13 am
I have contacted Web Studio, (the company that designed the template) and they want $199 to customize the template.
TemplateMonster is you have to contact for - not they - and tell TM about their practice!

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria

Post by izzy0855 » Wed Sep 30, 2020 7:24 am

Thanks for your insight, but I found out the problem. When making a "Category Page" click on the "Data" tab. About 3/4 of the way down on the page (it's very hard to see) under the image that you upload, there's a small check box (unless you drag your mouse over it, you'll never see it) labeled "Top." If you hover over the "?" it will tell you, "Display in the top menu bar, only works for parent categories." So I clicked on it and what do you know, my problem was solved.

Thanks for the help,
Rick

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Wed Sep 30, 2020 12:01 am

Post by OSWorX » Wed Sep 30, 2020 12:53 pm

izzy0855 wrote:
Wed Sep 30, 2020 7:24 am
Thanks for your insight, but I found out the problem.
A typical case of not telling all facts in the 1st post!

Full Stack Web Developer :: Dedicated OpenCart Development & Support DACH Region
Contact for Custom Work / Fast Support.


User avatar
Guru Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:52 pm
Location - Austria
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests